Maryland Kids In Safety

Seats (KISS) is a statewide,
non-profit program whose mission

is to reduce injuries and death to
Maryland’s children by helping
people use car seats and booster seats
correctly each time a child rides in a
motor vehicle.

The Problem

Motor vehicle crashes are the lead-
ing cause of unintentional injuries and
death among children in the United
States.

On average in Maryland, 8 children
under age 16 are killed and 3,200
seriously injured every year as child
passengers (CODES, 2010).

Based on car seat inspection summaries,
about 75 percent of the car seats in-
spected in Maryland have some sort

of misuse. Misuse may include:
children riding in the wrong type of

car seat, car seats that are not correctly
installed in the vehicle or using car seats
have been recalled, broken, expired or
been in a crash.

KISS’s solution to this problem is
education. KISS provides best practice
education and information about car
seat selection, correct use and installa-
tion. Correctly using the right type of
car seat for a child greatly reduces the
risk of injury and death.

KISS provides services to all
Marylanders responsible for transport-
ing children and strives to:

 Educate the public on all child
passenger safety issues

» Promote the proper and consistent
use of car seats or booster seats

» Answer questions about Maryland’s
child passenger safety laws and safe
transportation recommendations

KISS Services

Car Seat Assistance
Programs:
KISS coordinates
Car Seat Assistance
Programs (CSAP),
which provide car
seats and booster
seats at a minimal
cost to families unable to

purchase them. CSAP volunteers
provide an appropriate seat for the child
and teach care givers how to use the
seat correctly, or refer the care giver to

a local certified child passenger safety
technician. This is a volunteer service
for the community, so appointments

are necessary and there is a small fee for
the car seat(s). Seat availability

may vary per site.

Technical Assistance
and Referral Service:

¢ Presentations/Trainings --
Presentations and trainings, ranging
from one or two-hour general child
passenger safety presentations of the
32-hour National Child Passenger
Safety Certification Course.

 Car Seat Inspections -- KISS staff
assist organizations throughout
Maryland with setting up car seat
inspections, and also provide free
inspections once a month by appoint-
ment at the State Office Building
Complex in Baltimore City.

» Skype Video Chat Service --
Unable to get to a car seat inspec-
tion? KISS offers free Skype video chat
service, enabling care givers to discuss
question(s) in a face-to-face environ-
ment so staff may provide the best
advice or video demonstration.

* Referral Service -- KISS maintains
a list of car seat inspection sites where
certified child passenger safety techni-
cians teach caregivers about correct
car seat usage and installation. Most
car seat inspections are free of charge,
but conducted by appointment only.

Please note: Car seat inspection sites
often schedule appointments four to six
weeks in advance. Please plan ahead.

For any KISS service, please call the
Helpline at 800-370-SEAT or e-mail
KISS at dhmh.kiss@maryland.gov



Child Passenger
Safety Clearinghouse:

KISS serves as Maryland’s child
passenger safety information clearing-
house by distributing educational
materials, answering “safest practice”
questions, and providing referrals to
Loaner Programs and Permanent
Fitting Stations. Requests for health
fair displays are also scheduled.

For child passenger safety
information, contact
KISS Helpline
800-370-SEAT (800-370-7328)
dhmh.kiss@maryland.gov

Visit KISS on the Web!

Visit www.mdkiss.org for general
child passenger safety information
including Maryland’s child passenger
safety law, Frequently Asked Questions,
lists of upcoming car seat check events,
upcoming trainings, and links to other
safety organizations.

The Maryland Child Passenger
Safety Law requires that a child under
8 years old must ride in an appropriate
child restraint,* unless the child is 4’ 9”
or taller.

Children from 8 to 16 years old who are
not secured in a child restraint must be
secured in a vehicle seat belt.

*Child restraint includes car seats,
booster seats or other federally approved
child safety devices.
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The services and facilities of the Maryland Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) are operated on a
non-discriminatory basis. This policy prohibits discrimination
on the basis of race, color, sex or national origin and applies

to the provisions of employment and granting of advantages,
privileges and accommodations.

The Department, in compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, ensures that qualified individuals
with disabilities are given an opportunity to participate in
and benefit from DHMH services, programs, benefits and
employment opportunities.
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Have questions
about

Car Seat
Safety?

Kids In
Safety Seats
has answers!



