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Processing and Selling Value Added Food Products in Maryland

General Processing Information

All products sold in Maryland must have a label that contains the name and address of the
producer or distributor, a quantity statement (count, fluid measurement or net weight depending on the
product), and the identity of the product. The requirements listed below address only the requirements
and licenses of the health department to assure safety of the food. Local and state zoning, waste
disposal and other laws may apply. Instead of obtaining the license(s) to process the value added
products, a farmer can have them processed at a licensed facility and returned to the farm for sales.

Primary Contacts

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Center for Retail Food, Plan, and Process Reviews
6 St. Paul Street, Suite 1301
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 767-8400

Maryland Department of Agriculture
Deanna Baldwin
baldwiDL@mda.state.md.us
(410) 841-5769

Definitions

On-Farm Home Processing License: License issued by MD Department of Health and Mental
Hygiene (DHMH) to an individual who owns a farm and sales must be less than $40,000.00 annually.
Allows the processing of certain products in a home kitchen. Cost - $30.00

Processing License: License issued by DHMH to persons processing food. Must meet commercial
requirements. Cost $150.00

Process Authority: A person who has expert knowledge of thermal processing requirements for low-
acid foods packaged in hermetically-sealed containers or has expert knowledge in the acidification and
processing of acidified foods. This person’s evaluation of a scheduled process must be approved by
FDA or USDA depending on the food. Private sector service. Fees vary.

Scheduled Process: The process selected by the processor as adequate under the conditions of
manufacture for a given product to achieve commercial sterility and/or maintaining a food that will not
permit the growth of microorganisms having public health significance.

Producer Mobile Farmer’s Market License: License issued annually by DHMH that covers sales at
any farmer’s market within Maryland. Required for all potentially hazardous (refrigerated) products
covered by the On-Farm Home Processing License and meat and poultry certified by Maryland
Department of Agriculture.
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements

Baked Goods - with
potentially hazardous
toppings or fillings.
Toppings, glazes, icings
or fillings that must be
refrigerated such as
custard based, filled or
topped with cream,
cheese, etc.

Processing License Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, commercial
kitchen and refrigeration. Plan
Review.

Baked Goods - without
potentially hazardous
toppings or fillings. Pies,
turnovers, fruit tarts from
fruits such as apples,
apricots, blackberries,
boysenberries, cherries,
peaches, strawberries,
etc. No cream, cheese,
custards, etc.

Can sell directly from farm or at farmer’s
market with no license. To sell to
restaurants or retailers, On-Farm Home
Processing License for sales less than
$40,000. Over $40,000.00 requires a
Processing License.

Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system & home kitchen
for less than $40,000. Potable
water, approved sewage disposal
system, plan review &
commercial kitchen for more than
$40,000.

Canned Goods -
acidified - products that
must be acidified to a pH
of 4.6 or less during
processing such as
artichokes, asparagus,
beans, beets, broccoli,
cabbage, corn, cucumber,
peas, most peppers,
potatoes, pumpkin, etc.

On-Farm Home Processing License if
less than $40,000 in sales. Processing
License if more than $40,000 in sales.
Better Process Control School training
course required.

Potable water, Process Authority,
scheduled process filed with FDA
& home kitchen for less than
$40,000. Potable water, Process
Authority, Scheduled Process
filed with FDA & commercial
kitchen for more than $40,000.
Plan review for both types of
licenses.

Canned Goods -
naturally acid (pH of 4.6
or less) fruit such as
apples, apricots,
blackberries,
boysenberries, cherries,
grapes, peaches, etc.

Evaluation needed in order to sell directly
from farm or at farmer’s market with no
license. To sell to restaurants or retailers,
On-Farm Home Processing License for
sales less than $40,000. Over $40,000.00
requires a Processing License.

Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system & home kitchen
for less than $40,000. Potable
water, approved sewage disposal
system, & commercial kitchen for
more than $40,000. Plan review
for both types of licenses.

Dairy Products Requires a DHMH Center for Milk
Control license. Producer Mobile
Farmer’s Market License required for
transport to and sales at farmer’s market.

Regulated by the federal
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and
State. Plan review for both types
of licenses.
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements

Dried Fruit and
Vegetables

On-Farm Home Processing License if
less than $40,000 in sales. Processing
License if more than $40,000 in sales.

Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system & home kitchen
for less than $40,000. Potable
water, approved sewage disposal
system, & commercial kitchen for
more than $40,000. Plan review
for both types of licenses.

Eggs Register with the Secretary of
Agriculture annually (no fee if less than
3,000 chickens). Neither retail license
from local health department nor
Producer Mobile Farmers Market License
required if selling own production.

Chickens must originate from
National Poultry Improvement
Plan monitored hatchery. Must
meet minimum of Grade A
standards, weight requirements,
labeling requirements, invoice
requirements & be held at 45°F.

Fermented Products Processing License Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, commercial
kitchen and refrigeration. Plan
Review.

Fruit, Butters –
Pumpkin, banana or
pear

Processing License Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, commercial
kitchen and refrigeration. Plan
Review.

Fruit, Cut - ready to eat Processing License Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, plan review &
commercial kitchen.

Honey No license required if no flavors added
(raw agricultural product). Honey and
herb mixture: On-Farm Home Processing
License if less than $40,000 in sales or
Processing License if more than $40,000
in sales.

Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system & home kitchen
for less than $40,000. Potable
water, approved sewage disposal
system, & commercial kitchen for
more than $40,000. Plan review
for both types of licenses.
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements

Jellies and Jams – made
with fruits with a natural
pH of 4.6 or less such as
apples, apricots,
blackberries, peaches,
strawberries, etc.

Can sell directly from farm or at farmer’s
market with no license. To sell to
restaurants or retailers, On-Farm Home
Processing License for sales less than
$40,000. Over $40,000.00 requires a
Processing License.

No paraffin wax seals allowed –
hot filled into sterile Mason jars
with ¼” head space. For other
than farm and farmer’s market
sales, potable water, approved
sewage disposal system & home
kitchen for less than $40,000.
Potable Water, approved sewage
disposal system, & commercial
kitchen for more than $40,000.
Plan review for both types of
licenses.

Meats - non USDA
regulated (bison, rabbits,
etc.)

On-farm sales only without inspection.
Can have voluntary inspection by USDA
or MDA to qualify for sales off farm. If
slaughtered, packaged and labeled at a
USDA facility, can be returned to farm
for sales. Must have an On-Farm Home
Processing License for on-farm storage
unless farm is inspected by MDA or
USDA. Producer Mobile Farmer’s
Market License required for transport to
and sales at farmer’s market.

For storage on-farm: commercial
refrigerator or freezer capable of
maintaining an air temperature of
0°F for freezer and 41°F for
refrigeration. Plan review for
both types of licenses.

Meats - USDA regulated
- Cattle, Swine, Sheep,
Goats and Equine

Cannot slaughter, process, package or
label without USDA inspection. Can
have the product slaughtered, packaged
and labeled at a USDA inspected facility
and return to the farm for sales. Must
have a license an On-Farm Home
Processing License for on-farm storage.
If USDA inspected and storage DHMH
licensed, can be sold to anyone.
Producer Mobile Farmer’s Market
License required for transport to and
sales at farmer’s market.

For storage on-farm: commercial
refrigerator or freezer capable of
maintaining an air temperature of
0°F for freezer and 41°F for
refrigeration. Plan review for
both types of licenses.
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements

Pickles, canned,
acidified

On-Farm Home Processing License if
less than $40,000 in sales. Processing
License if more than $40,000 in sales.
FDA Better Process Control School
training course required.

Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, Process
Authority, scheduled process filed
with FDA & home kitchen for
less than $40,000. Potable water,
approved sewage disposal system,
Process Authority, scheduled
process filed with FDA &
commercial kitchen for more than
$40,000. Plan review for both
types of licenses.

Poultry – less than
20,000 slaughtered
annually

Can slaughter and sell directly from farm
to consumers without a license or
inspection. To slaughter and sell to
retailers, restaurants or at a farmer’s
market must be inspected by USDA or
MDA. Can be slaughtered, packaged and
labeled at a USDA inspected facility and
returned to the farm for sales with a On-
Farm Home Processing License. No
license required on-farm if inspected by
MDA. Producer Mobile Farmer’s
Market License required for transport to
and sales at farmer’s market.

All: Must be own production.
Potable water and approved
sewage disposal system. Cannot
be adulterated - contaminated
with filth, held under unsanitary
conditions, contain any poisonous
or added deleterious substance,
etc. Must be held at 41°F or less
if fresh, 0°F or less if frozen. Off
farm sales: Must have voluntary
inspection by USDA or
participate in MDA’s voluntary
program.

Poultry - more than
20,000 slaughtered
annually

USDA continuous inspection required.
Producer Mobile Farmer’s Market
License required to sell at Farmer’s
Market.

Continuous inspection by
USDA/FSIS of slaughter –
poultry health and sanitation.

Sauerkraut and other
fermented products

Processing license. Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system & commercial
kitchen. Plan Review.

Vegetables, cut - Ready
to Eat

Processing license Potable water, approved sewage
disposal system, plan review &
commercial kitchen


