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Environmental Health Bureau 

Maryland Department of Health and Mental 

Hygiene, 201 West Preston Street 

Room 327 

Baltimore, MD 21201-2399 

 

Local Health Department Contacts 
Anne Arundel   (410) 222-7241 
Allegany  (301) 759-5000 
Baltimore City   (410) 396-4422 
Baltimore  (410) 887-4066 
Calvert   (410) 535-3922 
Carroll   (410) 876-1884 
Caroline  (410) 479-8030 
Cecil   (410) 996-5160 
Charles  (301) 609-6936 
Dorchester (410) 228-3223 
Frederick  (301) 600-1029 
Garrett   (301) 334-7760 
Harford  (410) 877-2300 
Kent   (410) 778-1350 
Montgomery  (240) 777-3986 
Prince Georges (301) 883-7605 
Queen Anne’s  (410) 758-0721 
Somerset (443) 523-1700 
St. Mary’s  (301) 475-4330 
Talbot  (410) 819-5600 
Washington (240) 313-3400 
Wicomico (410) 546-4446 
Worcester (410) 632-1220 

DHMH@Maryland.gov 

 

For More Information Call 

1-866-703-3266 

TTY: 1-800-735-2258 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.maryland.gov/


  Improving Maryland’s Health 

 

What are the requirements of the new 

law? 

 
 Tanning facility operator must ask  
     everyone for proof of age, using some  
     form of government-issued identification 
     (such as a license). 
 

 Minors (less than 18 years of age) 

MUST have a consent form, signed by a 

parent or guardian in the presence of 

the facility owner or operator, before 

they can tan. (A consent form can be 

downloaded from DHMH web site)   

http://eh.dhmh.md.gov                

 The tanning facility operator must 
      confirm the identity of the parent or 
     guardian, using some form of 
     government-issued identification. 
 
 You are required to correct any  
      violations of the requirements listed    
      above. If you fail to correct the 
      violation (s) by the date specified, 
      there may be subsequent 
      penalties 

 
What are the penalties? 
       
 First violation—letter of reprimand 
     2nd  violation-$250.00 
     3rd   violation-$500.00 
     Addition violation—$1000.00 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 How do I pay a penalty? 

 
 To pay a  penalty, make a check or money 

order out to “DHMH-General Funds” and  
     attach a copy of the ‘Letter of Violation’. Mail     
both your  payment and the copy of letter  
     to the Local  Health Department. 
    

 How does a business request an appeal? 
 

 Businesses have the right to a 

hearing on any violation. The owner must 
submit a written request for a hearing to the 
Environmental Health Bureau; Maryland  
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 
201 West Preston Street,  Room 327,  
Baltimore, Maryland 21201 - within 10 days.  

 

 Is there other important information? 

 
 Please check the regulations in your 
     particular county, since some counties    
     now have their own laws regarding  
     minors, forms and signage.  
 
     More information, forms, and contact 
     information  can be found at:  

      http://www.dhmh@md.gov             
 

 

     

  Or you may call the Environmental Health 

Helpline:  1-866-703-3266 

  

Since October 1, 2008, tanning facilities may 
not allow minors to use tanning equipment 
without the signed consent of the minor’s  
parent or guardian.   
 
AND, the tanning facilities must verify the age 
of an individual before allowing the individual 
access to a tanning device.  
 
This brochure explains what tanning facilities 
must do to comply with the new law, and 
 answers your questions about tanning of  
minors.   
 

Why is there a new law to protect  

Maryland minors before they use  

tanning equipment? 

Because of the increase in skin cancer 

and other skin problems related to  

exposures to ultra-violet light most 

health experts strongly recommend that 

children should not use indoor tanning 

devices. The health effects of concern 

include: skin cancer; phototoxcity and 

Photoallergy; premature aging of the 

skin; possible damage to the eye. 
 

How does this law affect businesses? 

 
Anyone who operates a tanning facility 
 (any place where a tanning device is used for 
a fee, membership dues, or other  
compensation) has to meet the requirements 
of the new law.   


